June 12

How to do Keyword Research for SEO

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Is it still important to analyze keywords for high popularity in Google?

 
We will talk about if you should even still do keyword research, how keyword research has changed, how to understand keyword intent, what are latent semantic indexing (LSI) keywords, and how to select keywords for targeting.


Should I still do keyword research?


The answer to this is yes, you must do keyword research. If you don't do keyword research, you won't know what keywords to target, what type of content your consumers are searching, and what questions they're asking.

This will give you an idea of ways to improve your product or service. You'll get a ton of information from keyword research and know what keywords are worth targeting, and which ones are too competitive to rank.


How has keyword research changed?


Keyword research has changed because you have to be more thorough in your research and more strategic in selection. In previous years you could find a few popular keywords and use those for your site and your content.

Now you have to research more strategically, check more places and have to be more discerning when deciding what keywords to target.

Also, real estate on Google search results pages has changed a lot and depending on what keyword you're targeting, you may have more or less space to work with.

Some keywords only return organic search results while others return paid ads, and a local 3-pack with map listings.

Other keywords return answer boxes, knowledge boxes, carousels of ads, news, or recipes.

You also have to understand keyword intent, which is what we'll talk about next.


Understanding keyword intent


The two types of keyword intent are, informational and transactional.

Informational are people searching for information about a service or product. Or, information about the particular problem they are facing.

Transactional, or buyer intent, are people looking to make a purchase.

You want to have a mix of informational and buyer keywords on your website because early on in the buying process people search for information. After they've obtained enough information, they'll usually want to make a purchase.

You want them to find all the information they need on your website so they can easily make a pu rchase from you, once all of their questions have been answered.

We'll separate our keywords into informational and buyer keyword segments. You can tell the difference between informational and buyer keywords by looking at the cost-per-click(CPC).

Keywords with higher cost-per-click for that industry are buyer keywords. I say high CPC for that industry because, for example, a lawyer would have a CPC around $100 per click, while an electronics store may have a CPC of $2 per click. Each of those is relatively high for the industry.

First, you want to pick two or three buyer intent keywords that have pretty high search volume as your main keywords. These are the ones you're using on the homepage.

Then, you want to use each of those buyer intent keywords on your services or products pages that get high volume and are related to those products or services. Here are some examples of buyer intent keywords: lawyer near me, plumber Denver, sunglasses free shipping, exact product name like Samsung Galaxy Note 12.

Next, you'll want to find informational keywords to use on your services pages and for your blog content. You can do research for informational keywords and find the CPC will be much lower than buyer keywords.

They usually have lower search volume, depending on how specific the keyword. Information keywords are important to incorporate into your site, and we will see many of those when we get to user-generated keywords.

Here I'll show some examples of informational intent keywords: how to connect PlayStation controller, how to squat, why do people get sick, what do lawyers do.


Latent Semantic Indexing(LSI) Keywords


Latent semantic indexing or LSI keywords are basically, keywords related to the keywords you're already using.

An easy example of LSI keywords are the Google suggestions that pop up under the search box and at the bottom of the page. These other keywords related to your search are LSI keywords. You can use LSI Graph to easily find LSI keywords. Just type in your keyword and you’ll get a list of LSI keywords.

I would also use the keyword suggestions from Google.

You can also install the Chrome Extensions, Keyword Surfer and Keywords Everywhere.

Keyword Surfer is completely free. Keywords Everywhere is a paid tool, but you can see the related keywords for free.


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